Useful Links

Informative Links


Home | Provincial Government

Provincial Government

Pakistan's four provinces enjoy considerable autonomy. Each province has a governor, a Council of Ministers headed by a chief minister appointed by the governor, and a provincial assembly. Members of the provincial assemblies are elected by universal adult suffrage. Provincial assemblies also have reserved seats for minorities. Although there is a well-defined division of responsibilities between federal and provincial governments, there are some functions on which both can make laws and establish departments for their execution. Most of the services in areas such as health, education, agriculture, and roads, for example, are provided by the provincial governments. Although the federal government can also legislate in these areas, it only makes national policy and handles international aspects of those services.

Capital [ Karachi ]  
Provincial Assembly  
More Information.  
Government of Balochistan

Government of Balochistan is based in the largest province of Pakistan in Quetta. The head of the province is the Governor, who is nominated by the President of Pakistan. While the head of the Government of Balochistan is the Chief Minister who is elected by the Balochistan Assembly.
The province of Balochistan (or Baluchistan) in Pakistan contains most of historical Balochistan and is named after the Baloch. To the south is the Arabian Sea. The principal languages in the province are  BaluchiPashtoBrahui, and Persian.

Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

The Government of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa functions under the provisions of the Constitution of Pakistan (1973). The Province has a Provincial Assembly with 124 elected members, constituent of 99 Regular seats, 22 seats reserved for Women and 3 seats for Non-Muslims. The Provincial Assembly elects the Chief Minister of the Province who forms a Cabinet of Ministers to look after various Departments. The Chief Minister is the Chief Executive of the Province. The Federal Government appoints a Governor as head of the Provincial Government.
The bureaucratic machinery of the province is headed by a Chief Secretary who coordinates and supervises functions of various Departments headed by Departmental Secretaries. In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for the Planning & Development Department the incharge is the Additional Chief Secretary who reports to the Chief Secretary. All the Secretaries are assisted by Additional Secretaries, Deputy Secretaries, Section Officers and other staff. The Departments may have attached Departments and autonomous or semi-autonomous bodies to look after various functions.
Since the year 2001, the system of elected District Governments has been introduced. The Province is divided into 24 districts. At district level a District Police Officer looks after the Law and Order and he reports to the Zilla Nazim. Each district has a Public Safety Commission which addresses public complaints against the Police. There is a Provincial Police Officer who is incharge of the Police system at the provincial level. 

Government of Punjab

The Punjab or Panjab province of Pakistan is the country's most populous region and is home to the Punjabis and various other groups. Neighbouring areas are Sindh to the south, Balochistan and Federally Administered Tribal Areas to the west, the Khyber Pakhtoon Khwa (formerly North West Frontier Province (NWFP)), Azad Kashmir, Indian controlled Jammu, Kashmir, Ladakh and Islamabad to the north, and Indian Punjab and Rajasthan to the east. The main languages are Punjabi and Urdu and the provincial capital is Lahore. The name Punjab literally translates from Persian into the words 'Panj' five, and 'Aab' water respectively, which can be translated as "five water" (hence the poetic name land of the five rivers), referring to the Beas, Ravi, Sutlej, Chenab and Jhelum rivers. Part of the Indus river also lies in Punjab, but it is not considered one of the "five" rivers.

Government of Sindh

Government of Sindh  is based in Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan. (Sind)  is one of the four provinces of Pakistan and is home to the Sindhis, Muhajirs, Pashtuns and a whole array of other ethnic and linguistic groups. Neighbouring regions are Balochistan to the west and north, Punjab in the north and India to the east. To the south is the Arabian Sea. The main languages are Sindhi, Balochi, Seraiki and Urdu.

State of Azad Jammu and Kashmir

The State of Azad Jammu and Kashmir lies between longitude 730 – 750 and latitude 330 – 360 and comprises an area of 5134 square miles (13,297 square kilometres). The topography of the area is mainly hilly and mountainous with valleys and stretches of plains. The area is full of natural beauty with thick forest, fast flowing rivers and winding streams. Main rivers are Jehlum, Neelum and Poonch. The climate is sub-tropical highland type with an average yearly rainfall of 1300 mm. The elevation ranges from 360 meters in the South to 6325 meters in the North. According to the 1998 population census, the State of Azad Jammu & Kashmir had a population of 2.973, which estimated to have grown to 3.4 million in 2004. Almost 100% population is Muslim. The rural to urban ratio is 88:12. The population density is 258 persons per Sq Km. The literacy rate have increased from 55% to 60% after 1998 census. Infant mortality rate is approximately 56 per 1000 live births, where as the immunization rate for the children less than 5 years of age is more than 88%.

The State of Azad Jammu and Kashmir has a parliamentary form of Government. The President is the constitutional head of the State, while the Prime Minister, supported by a Council of Ministers, is the Chief Executive. The democratic setup was introduced in 1970 under the presidential system on the basis of adult franchise. For the first time the people of AJ&K and the refugees of Jammu and Kashmir settled in Pakistan elected the Legislative Assembly as well as President for Azad Jammu and Kashmir on the basis of adult franchise. In 1975, for the first time in the history of AJ&K, parliamentary system was introduced and Prime Minister, as the Chief Executive of the State, was elected by the majority of the votes of the Legislative Assembly.

Gilgit Baltistan

Gilgit Baltistan (formerly known as the Northern Areas) of Pakistan, is a self governed region in the north of Pakistan. It is governed through a representative Government and an independent judiciary.

Gilgit Baltistan is home to one of the most diverse socio cultural geography in the world. It has rightly been called the Roof of the World, the Wonderland of Asia and the Jewel of Pakistan.

Who is Who Government Structure Government Websites Rules & Acts Schemes & Support Programs
  A to Z Government Contacts Honours, Awards & Medals Gazette of Pakistan